Draft Minutes

Hamilton Mountain Writers Guild Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Date: Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Venue: Terryberry Library, 100 Mohawk Road West, Hamilton, ON/online on

ZOOM

Attendees

Full Members

In Person: Anita Joldersma, Sarah Farr, Michael Wagstaffe, Bob Nothnagel,

Garvin Nunes, Lynda DiPietro, Linda Lambert, Sheila Hanratty Via Zoom: Christine Carleton, Theresa Karlinski, Terry Martens

Also in attendance were 2 Associate Members and 1 Guest The meeting convened at 6:35 pm.

1. Welcome

Anita Joldersma welcomed the attendees in person and online through Zoom to the 2023 Annual General Meeting.

2. Territorial Acknowledgement

The City of Hamilton is situated upon the traditional territories of Erie, Neutral, Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee and Mississaugas.

3. Introduction

Anita acknowledged the sad passing of (Patrick) Shane Clair.

2023 Board of Directors

Director: Patrick Shane Clair Director: Christine Carleton Director: Anita Joldersma Treasurer: Michael Wagstaffe

Secretary: Sarah Farr

Note: Stan resigned in the spring

4. Voting members definition

Only members who have paid annual dues are eligible to vote. There were 10 voting members at the AGM last year. There are 11 voting members this AGM.

5. Determination of Quorum

It was determined that a quorum of voting members was present in person and online.

- 6. Insufficient Quorum item bypassed as a quorum existed.
- 7. Addition/Changes to the Agenda

There were no additions or changes to the December 13th, 2023 AGM Agenda.

8. Approval of the Minutes of the meeting held December 2022 AGM

There being no errors or omissions, the Minutes of the December 2022 AGM were approved.

Motion made by Bob Nothnagel, seconded by Garvin Nunes.

9. 2023 Financial Statement by Michael Wagstaffe, Treasurer

Review of the 2024 proposed Budget

The budget had been previously sent to all full members for review.

Revenue:

Revenue projection – 25 members in 2024 Anthology Submissions – 5 sold 31 online units sold \$150 for Amazon royalties projected TOTAL: ~ \$1500 next year

Expenses:

Committees - no funds

\$50 memberships

\$100 for promotions

\$110 Website hosting

Author copies \$8 per

\$150 Recognition funds

\$200 author copies Book 7

\$150 Recognition funds

Minimal charges for office supplies

Zoom subscription \$225 per year

Banking fees ~ \$100/year

\$115.00 Neighbour to Neighbour donation

Memorial Bursary \$100

TOTAL: ~ \$1,486.00

Surplus \$14

Total Cash on hand: ~ \$4,000 (\$3,956.32)

Anita thanked Michael Wagstaffe for his report.

The 2023 Financial Statement was approved. Motion made by Christine Carleton, seconded by Bob Nothnagel.

10. Nominations and Elections

Sarah Farr is stepping down. Anita thanked her for her contribution to the Board.

Current Board Members are Anita Joldersma, Mike Wagstaffe, Christine Carleton.

Two positions are open, up to four available.

Garvin Nunes was nominated to the Board. He accepted. Bob Nothnagel was nominated to the Board. He declined. Lynda DiPietro was nominated to the Board. She accepted. Both were appointed by acclamation.

The Next Annual General Meeting will be scheduled to take place in December 2024.

11. <u>Committee Reports</u>

Michael reported that promotions have been taking place on Facebook and Instagram.

It was further mentioned that numerous ideas raised in group discussions at the last HMWG meeting on November 29th will be considered for further discussion and development.

12. Adjournment

There being no further business, the AGM was adjourned at 6:55 pm.