Hamilton Mountain Writers' Guild

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 14, 2022, 6:30 p.m.

Terryberry Library and Zoom

Neil Chopp chaired the meeting and read the Territorial acknowledgement.

Current board members present, Neil Chopp, Anita Joldersma, Teresa Karlinski, Michael Wagstaffe, Bob Nothnagel, and Margaret March.

Voting members definition – open to full members only. Method of voting for the proceedings, quorum (10 of the eligible voting members).

Determination of quorum – count the eligible voters present in person and on Zoom.

Number present – 16. Sufficient to continue with the meeting.

Addition/Changes to the agenda. There were none.

Approval of the December 2021 AGM Meeting minutes. Ron moved to accept minutes from 2021. Shane seconded. Passed.

Financial Statement – Treasurer, Michael Wagstaffe presented the 2023 budget which was based on the past 4 years. Michael moved to accept the proposed budget. Barry seconded. Passed.

Nomination and Election of Directors – Neil presented the document Board Membership 2023, which laid out the criteria for HMWG Board member selection. Two board members will return for 2023 – Michael Wagstaffe, and Anita Joldersma.

Neil reviewed the three pathways to nominations. Then the floor opened for nominations. These positions would be for directors only as executive positions would be decided at the first meeting of the new board.

Nominated by voting members for Directors:

Stan Barber

Shane Clair

Margaret Crook

Sarah Farr

Christine Carleton

Barry Gottlieb

The candidates were then asked to either accept or decline. They briefly spoke as to their eligibility. Followed by a motion for each candidate, seconded and voted on by a show of hands from voting members. This was passed.

Accepted:

Stan Barber - Michael moved to accept Stan, Garvin seconded

Shane Clair - Michael moved to accept Shane, Grace seconded

Sarah Farr – Michael moved to accept Sarah, Susan seconded

Christine Carleton - Michael moved to accept Christine, Shane seconded

Barry Gottlieb - Michael moved to accept Barry, Shane seconded.

Voting took place via a raise of hands from the eligible voters. All but Barry were accepted.

Ron made a motion to accept all newly elected board members.

Stan Barber

Shane Clair

Sarah Farr

Christine Carleton

Returning board members: Anita Joldersma

Michael Wagstaffe

Grace seconded the motion.

This was passed.

Neil welcomed the newly appointed board members for 2023:

Committee Reports:

Communications Committee: Neil mentioned approving media releases to the Hamilton Mountain News, updating the website and the membership poll regarding membership meetings.

Promotions Committee: Michael spoke about using social media.

Membership Committee: Anita mentioned tracking people in the writing teams, finding a fit for each person. Also, she spoke about not having to pay the membership fee to join the Guild.

Programming Committee: Anita mentioned that Bob managed to arrange for speakers. Also, Bob is stepping down from chairing the committee. Anita would like to use more writing prompts and have them read aloud at meetings.

The next Annual General Meeting is December 2023

Meeting was adjourned.